Those are all bills that cleared the Connecticut legislature this year. They also won approval from lawmakers in California on Thursday, the final night of the legislative session in Sacramento.
Under the bill approved by the California legislature, the state’s minimum wage would rise by 25 percent over two years, to $10 an hour on Jan. 1, 2016. That would be the highest in the nation under current rates. Read more about the debate in the Los Angeles Times. Gov. Jerry Brown has said he will sign the measure.
Earlier this year, the Connecticut General Assembly approved — and Gov. Dannel P. Malloy signed — a bill raising the state’s hourly minimum wage from the current rate of $8.25 to $8.70 on Jan. 1 and $9 in 2015.
Gov. Brown also indicated he will sign the immigrant driver’s license bill, which would allow undocumented citizens to obtain a specially marked license. Like Connecticut, the California licenses cannot be used for identification purposes. (Connecticut’s bill takes effect in Jan., 2015.)
The Golden State also follows the Nutmeg State in mandating mattress recycling. The Connecticut legislature passed a first-in-the-nation law mattress recycling law earlier this year; the measure will assess a fee, likely between $8 and $12, to consumers buying mattresses to cover disposal costs.