Newtown First Selectwoman To Receive Top Republican Women\’s Award

by Categorized: Newtown, Sandy Hook Date:

Newtown First Selectwoman E. Patricia Llodra will be receiving the state Republican Party\’s Women\’s Leadership Award for her service in her hometown.

Llodra will receive the award on May 20 in Stamford at the 35th annual Prescott Bush Awards Dinner, which is the biggest single fundraiser of the year for the state GOP.

“Pat Llodra has demonstrated exceptional leadership under extraordinary circumstances,” state GOP chairman Jerry Labriola said in a statement. “Whether serving on the PTA, the Board of Education or helping her community heal in Newtown as first selectman, Pat has made service to others her life’s work.”

After moving to Newtown in 1970, Llodra became involved in the Sandy Hook PTA, the St. Rose of Lima parish council, and the Republican Town Committee, among others. Her first election was in 1976 when she won a six-year term on the local school board. She started serving on the town\’s legislative council in 2005, and she was later elected in 2009 to the town\’s top post as first selectwoman.

The Prescott Bush dinner traditionally attracts a nationally known speaker, and the keynoters in the past have included former Florida Governor Jeb Bush, former Massachusetts Governor Mitt Romney, former House Speaker Newt Gingrich, former national GOP chairman Lee Atwater, former homeland security secretary Tom Ridge, and former presidential candidates Jack Kemp and John McCain, among others.

The Courant is using Facebook comments on stories. To comment on articles, sign into Facebook and enter your comment in the field below. Comments will appear in your Facebook News Feed unless you choose otherwise. To report spam or abuse, click the X next to the comment. For guidelines on commenting, click here.

One thought on “Newtown First Selectwoman To Receive Top Republican Women\’s Award

  1. Kelley

    I am really pleased to read this. I cannot think of a more deserving person. She is exactly the type of leader we should be celebrating.

Comments are closed.