Shabazz Napier Makes Cut For Bob Cousy Award – And You Can Vote

by Categorized: UConn men's basketball

Shabazz Napier has made the latest cut-down as the Bob Cousy Award, given by the Hall of Fame for the nation’s top point guard. The finalists have been pared down to 23.

Napier is still on the “watch lists” for the Naismith and Wooden Awards, and the Oscar Robertson Trophy, those are player-of-the-year awards, the NCAA’s Senior CLASS Award, for well-rounded student-athletes.

The Cousy Award began with a watch list of 80. Now that it is down to 23, fans can vote for their top point guard choices beginning Tuesday. The voting (click here) will identify five finalists for the Cousy Award committee, including Mr. Cousy himself, in mid-March. The award will be presented at the Final Four. You can vote here.

Kemba Walker won this award in 2011, you may recall.


Here is the list of of 23 finalists: Jahii Carson, Arizona State; Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga; Siyani Chambers, Harvard;Yogi Ferrell, Indiana; DeAndre Kane, Iowa State; Jason Brickman, LIU-Brooklyn; Keith Appling, Michigan State; Aaron Craft, Ohio State; Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State; Xavier Thames, San Diego State; Tyler Ennis, Syracuse; T.J. McConnell, Arizona;  Justin Cobbs, Cal- Berkeley; Kyle Anderson, UCLA; Shabazz Napier, UConn; Scottie Wilbekin, Florida; Chaz Williams, UMass; Kendall Williams, New Mexico; Marcus Paige, North Carolina; Eric Atkins, Notre Dame; James Robinson, Pittsburgh; Juwan Staten, West Virginia; Fred VanVleet, Wichita State.

The Courant is using Facebook comments on stories. To comment on articles, sign into Facebook and enter your comment in the field below. Comments will appear in your Facebook News Feed unless you choose otherwise. To report spam or abuse, click the X next to the comment. For guidelines on commenting, click here.