Hancock Named NCAA Chair of Division I Women’s Hoops

by Categorized: UConn women's basketball, Uncategorized Date:

Fresh off the NCAA’s presses: Dru Hancock, senior associate commissioner for the Big 12 Conference, has been named the chair of the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee for the 2014-15 academic year.

Hancock will succeed Carolayne Henry, senior associate commissioner/senior woman administrator for the Mountain West Conference. She will become the 16th chair of the committee on September 1, 2014.

Hancock is an original member of the Big 12 Conference staff and was elevated to her current position of senior associate commissioner in February 2008. Her responsibilities include oversight of 13 league championships, as well as the departments of academics, governance and compliance. She is the primary administrator for women’s basketball operations and administration while also serving as liaison to senior woman administrators.

In addition to playing an instrumental role in the Big 12’s site selection for conference championships, Hancock was also heavily involved in getting the conference footprint cities awarded regional sites for the 2008 through 2011 NCAA Women’s Basketball Championships.  She was the tournament director for the 1998 Women’s Final Four that the Big 12 hosted in Kansas City.

Prior to joining the Big 12, Hancock served two years with the Big Eight Conference as assistant commissioner/senior woman administrator and the previous 10 years in athletic and academic administration at Tennessee.

The Courant is using Facebook comments on stories. To comment on courant.com articles, sign into Facebook and enter your comment in the field below. Comments will appear in your Facebook News Feed unless you choose otherwise. To report spam or abuse, click the X next to the comment. For guidelines on commenting, click here.