Moore, Taurasi WNBA First Team; Charles Makes Second team

by Categorized: WNBA Date:

Chicago Sky center Sylvia Fowles and Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi headlined the 2013 All-WNBA First-Team.

Fowles was the leading vote-getter (167 points), followed by Taurasi (162), who earned a record-tying eighth First Team nod. A pair of Minnesota Lynx – forward Maya Moore (161) and guard Lindsay Whalen (143) – and Los Angeles Sparks forward Candace Parker (119), the 2013 WNBA MVP, round out the First Team.  Parker is the only First-Team returnee from 2012.


  Fowles, a two-time WNBA Defensive Player of the Year winner (2013, 2010), led the WNBA in rebounding (11.5 rpg), finished second in blocks (2.44 bpg), and was one of only two players (Connecticut’s Tina Charles) to average a double-double on the season, finishing with a scoring average of 16.3 points.  Fowles captured WNBA Eastern Conference Player of the Month honors in July, August, and September, as the Sky finished with a record of 24-10, good for the top seed in the Eastern Conference, as Chicago reached the postseason for the first time in franchise history.       

Connecticut Sun center Tina Charles was voted to the All-WNBA Second Team.The 2012 WNBA MVP and 2010 WNBA Rookie of the Year, Charles was selected by a panel of 39 national and local sportswriters and broadcasters at the conclusion of the regular season. Players were selected by position and received five points for each First Team vote and three points for each Second Team designation.


  Charles, who averaged 18 points and 10.1 rebounds in 29 games this season, finished with 52 points. She also had 17 double-doubles while leading the Sun in scoring and rebounding for the fourth straight year. She was one of just two WNBA players to average a double-double in 2013.





The Courant is using Facebook comments on stories. To comment on articles, sign into Facebook and enter your comment in the field below. Comments will appear in your Facebook News Feed unless you choose otherwise. To report spam or abuse, click the X next to the comment. For guidelines on commenting, click here.