Stewart Wins Naismith, Dolson WBCA Defender; Sims Gets Wade

by Categorized: 2014 NCAA women's tournament Date:

In case you didn’t hear last night – with all this UConn men’s basketball championship stuff going on  - Breanna Stewart became the sixth Husky to be named the winner of the Naismith Trophy. She become just the seventh player to win the Naismith Trophy in both high school and college. Maya Moore was the last, winning the Naismith twice in high school (2006, 2007) and college (2009, 2011).

Baylor’s Odyssey Sims won the Wade Trophy.

Also, Stefanie Dolson beat out Stanford’s Chiney Ogwumike and Odyssey Sims of Baylor to earn WBCA Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Dolson has 90 blocked shots as a senior and is one of four UConn players with 250 career blocked shots.

The Courant is using Facebook comments on stories. To comment on articles, sign into Facebook and enter your comment in the field below. Comments will appear in your Facebook News Feed unless you choose otherwise. To report spam or abuse, click the X next to the comment. For guidelines on commenting, click here.